EXTERNAL LINKS

Useful Articles on Related Topics:

  1. Failures of Popular Culture Studies https://youtu.be/h8JvxANFZwE
  2. Punkast Interview https://www.thepunkast.com/episodes/jeremy-wallash
  3. Interview with Rizky Sasono https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSnntla84zY&t=1049s
  4. Keynote Session PSN Indonesia 2020 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrFaH5tD3Tw
  5. Jeremy’s articles for Norient: https://norient-beta.com/jwallach
  6. Music Notes: “Musik Indonesia 1997-2001 – Kebisingan dan Keberagaman Aliran Lagu” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogmPg5XzPDA&t=4s
  7. Topsfield, Jewel, “Songs from the street: The underworld of Indonesian buskers”. The Sydney Morning Herald April 18, 2015. http://www.smh.com.au/world/songs-from-the-street-the-underworld-of-indonesian-buskers-20150417-1mk7t8.html
  8. Bakkalapulo, Maria. Jakarta: Punk’s Last Refuge. Time Nov. 29, 2007. http://content.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1689323,00.html
  9. Bakkalapulo, Maria and Ayumi Nakanishi. Why Indonesian kids are crazy for punk. GlobalPost Sept 29, 2009. Why Indonesian Kids Are Crazy for Punk
  10. Baulch, Emma. 1996. Punks, Rastas and headbangers. Inside Indonesia 48. http://www.insideindonesia.org/punks-rastas-and-headbangers-balis-generation-x
  11. Haska, Helma. 2008. Marginal and Tattooed. Inside Indonesia 93. https://www.insideindonesia.org/marginal-and-tattooed
  12. Luvaas, Brent. 2008. Global Fashion, Remixed. Inside Indonesia 92. http://www.insideindonesia.org/global-fashion-remixed-2
  13. Pickles, Jo. 2000. Punks for peace. Inside Indonesia 64. http://www.insideindonesia.org/punks-for-peace
  14. Tedjasukmana, Jason. 2003. Bandung’s headbangers. Time Asia June 16, 2003.
    http://content.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,458837,00.html
  15. Wallach, Jeremy. Dangdut trendy. Inside Indonesia 78. http://www.insideindonesia.org/dangdut-trendy.
  16. Walsh, Bryan. 2003. Inul’s rules: A new idol is putting some sex and sizzle into Indonesia’s pop-music scene. Time Asia March 17, 2003.
    www.time.com/time/asia/magazine/article/0,13673,501030324–433338,00.html
  17. Indonesia’s Aceh punks shaved for ‘re-education’: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-16176410
  18. NY Times: “Real Punk Belongs to Fighters”: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/09/opinion/real-punk-belongs-to-fighters.html
  19. “Indonesia’s lewd and raunchy dangdut tests limits”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1L7i91C4To0
  20. “Raunchy Dangdut Stirs Debate”: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-17520726

MNFG used to inject sanity in recent debates about Indonesian popular music!

  1. “Punk Is Not a Crime (and Neither Is Islam)”: http://dissidentvoice.org/2011/12/punk-is-not-a-crime-and-neither-is-islam/
  2. The Korea Herald: The Gaga saga: http://www.koreaherald.com/view.php?ud=20120618000680

Miscellaneous

  1. Farah Mahdzan’s Malaysian and Indonesian popular culture site: http://myindo.com/
  2. Popular Culture in Indonesia book site: https://www.routledge.com/Popular-Culture-in-Indonesia-Fluid-Identities-in-Post-Authoritarian-Politics/Heryanto/p/book/9780415572705
  3. Punks Are Alright documentary: https://youtu.be/-98zn42lVAU
  4. Islam and Popular Culture in Indonesia and Malaysia Conference, University of Pittsburgh, Oct. 10-12, 2008: http://www.news.pitt.edu/news/university-pittsburgh-present-interdisciplinary-conference-islam-and-popular-culture-indonesia-
  5. Thank-you video by American ethnomusicologist Rebekah Moore, completed at the conclusion of her research in the Indonesian rock scene: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFpdFL-5r1o
  6. Personal blog of prominent Indonesian music figure Rudolf Dethu: www.rudolfdethu.com
  7. Puppen: Lessons from A Pioneering Indie Band (Jakarta Post).
  8. OUT NOW!  Eternal Madness’s newest single, “Truth of Imagination”: http://www.reverbnation.com/eternalmadness